What's On

Wednesday 28 July 2021, 7pm

NYO's Hope Exchange

Tickets from £15

excludes booking fee of £1 per transaction


National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain
Jonathon Heyward
Jess Gillam


Laura Jurd
Leoš Janáček
The Fiddler's Child
Benjamin Britten (arr. Colin Matthews)
Temporal Variations
Jessie Montgomery
Records from a Vanishing City
Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 8

Running Time

2 hours

A bright, abstract graphic featuring a black and white cutout image of two young musicians smiling

Following Monday's Government announcement, we are releasing additional tickets for this event which go on sale from midday on Friday 9 July.

Take heart and take heed of the teenage voice – with free tickets for children (7+) and young people aged 25 and under!

The brilliant musicians of NYO have chosen hope as their theme for Summer 2021. Music is the lifeblood of hope, building bridges between generations and traditions.

With conductor Jonathon Heyward and saxophonist Jess Gillam, the celebration begins with CHANT, an exuberant new work commissioned to explore our theme by Laura Jurd, Mercury-nominated trumpet player, composer, jazz-leader and improviser.

From psalms to mantras to rainmaking to sports crowds, chanting is a universal expression of hope in a community. Leoš Janáček’s beautiful tone poem is a political parable inspired by a poetic reworking of the classic Czech folk tale The Fiddler's Child, in which a boy is lured away from life by the power of his dead father's music. Britten's Temporal Variations shifts seamlessly between the sacred and the profane, in its witty and unexpected variations on a funeral march theme. Written for oboe with piano accompaniment and subsequently arranged for string orchestra by Colin Matthews, saxophonist Jess Gillam now makes the oboe part her own. Inspired by Angolan choral music discovered in an inherited record collection, Jessie Montgomery’s Records from a Vanishing City celebrates the cultural diversity and musical eclecticism of Manhattan's Lower East Side. Dvořák was passionate about his native Bohemian countryside and its musical traditions. Symphony No. 8 has a melodic freedom, fluency and lightness that transcends. It represents one of the composer's most joyful, hope-filled engagements with the folk tradition he loved.

Age guidance 7+

Shuttle Bus

Our free minibus service between Audley End Station and Saffron Hall will not be in operation for this event.

More info